Yasunari Kawabata

At the beginning of my learning Japanese language, I was determined to reach an advanced level that would allow me to read Yasunari Kawabata's novels in Japanese.(2003 y.hm i  was  little  stupid  girl :D). Till this moment, I had reconciled myself to reading Kawabata's books translated into English.
             In 1968, Kawabata (1899 - 1972) became the first Japanese to receive the Nobel Prize of Literature. Basically, Kawabata's novels center around sad love affairs. They are poetic and slow flow of events where the ending is not that important. Snow Country , for instance, gives the impression of unfinished story. His writings were described haiku in prose since the style lays between poetry and narration.

Author of books:
Izu no Odoriko (The Izu Dancer and Other Stories) (1927)
Asakusa Kurenaidan (The Scarlet Gang of Asakusa) (1930)
Yukiguni (Snow Country) (1948)
Meijin (The Masters of Go) (1951)
Sembazuru (A Thousand Cranes) (1952)
Yama no Oto (The Sound of the Mountain) (1954)
Mizuumi (The Lake) (1954)
Nemureru Bijo (The House of Sleeping Virgins) (1960)
Koto (The Old Capital) (1962)
Utsukushisa to Kanashimi (Beauty and Sadness) (1964)
Kataude (One Arm) (1964)
Tanpopo (Dandelion) (1974, published posthumously)
Palm-of-the-Hand Stories (1988, collected short stories, published posthumously)
First Snow on Fuji (2000, collected short stories, published posthumously)

No comments:

Post a Comment